About Us

Mission & Values of the National PTA

The overall purpose of PTA is to make every child’s potential a reality by engaging and empowering families and communities to advocate for all children.


PTA Values

Collaboration: We work in partnership with a wide array of individuals and organizations to accomplish our agreed-upon goals.


Commitment: We are dedicated to promoting children’s health, well-being, and educational success through strong parent, family, and community involvement.


Accountability: We acknowledge our obligations. We deliver on our promises.


Respect: We value our colleagues and ourselves. We expect the same high quality of effort and thought from ourselves as we do from others.


Inclusivity: We invite the stranger and welcome the newcomer. We value and seek input from as wide a spectrum of viewpoints and experiences as possible.


Integrity: We act consistently with our beliefs. When we err, we acknowledge the mistake and seek to make amends.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Huntsville Council Officers 2019-2020


President - Liz Boykin

Vice President of Leadership Development - Deb Stern

Vice President of Programs - Amy Jones

Vice President of Membership - Sally Jones

Vice President of Legislative Affairs - Amanda Borders

Secretary - Preeti Francis

Treasurer - Alexandria Peterson Roberson

Concessions - Melvin Scruggs

Technology Committee Chairperson - Mark Torstenson

Programs Committee Chairperson - Shatika Armstrong

Programs Committee Chairperson - Vanessa Colebaugh

The Huntsville Council of PTAs

Our Purpose


  • serves as an advisor to local units.  It is the first source of communication for support, information, and assistance for local units.

  • keeps local units informed of issues.

  • provides resources for programs, membership, ways and means, and other committees as needed.

  • coordinates local efforts with the school system and the school board.

  • organizes units.

  • conducts leadership training.

  • recognizes persons and local units for outstanding PTA service.

  • represents the PTA membership in legislative efforts.

  • represents Huntsville at the State PTA.

  • coordinates a scholarship program for local high school students.

  • awards grants to local units.

© 2018 - Huntsville Council of PTAs - All Rights Reserved.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now